Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act
Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act
Frequently Asked Questions
DISCLAIMER: Answers provided to the following questions are meant only to give general guidance. The answers do not and are not meant to replace statutory language.
What are the qualifications for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
o The applicant must:
be at least 21 years of age
have a currently valid FOID card (if an Illinois resident)
have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:
• a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years
• 2 or more violations relating to driving under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound are compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years
not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification
not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years
submit a completed Concealed Carry License application
successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.
Who needs an Illinois concealed carry license?
o Everyone who wants to carry a concealed firearm on his/her person in Illinois is required to have an Illinois Concealed Carry License except current peace officers and retired police officers.
Will Illinois Concealed Carry License holders have reciprocity in other states?
o This will be determined by the laws of the 49 other states. Illinois Concealed Carry License holders who want to conceal and carry in other states are responsible for researching the state laws to where they are traveling.
Will persons be allowed to open carry?
o No. A handgun carried on or about a person must be concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.
What is the cost for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
o $150 for 5 years for Illinois residents
o $300 for 5 years for out-of-state residents
How does a citizen apply for an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
o The application is now available to the public on the Illinois State Police (ISP) webpage. Additional information regarding the application and fingerprinting process have also been added to their website.
What is the parking lot exemption for CCL holders and prohibited places?
o Any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into a parking area of a prohibited location shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plane view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle’s trunk, provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle. This exception does not apply to any area where firearms are prohibited under federal law or to property regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
Where can a business owner obtain information about required signage?
o Signage information is available on the ISP website at https://ccl4illinois.com/ccw/Public/Signage.aspx
Can a business owner post a sign larger than 4” x 6”?
o Yes. The Illinois State Police has adopted administrative rules permitting the property owner to incorporate the 4 x 6 inch template into a larger sign; however, the required template must be reproduced as a 4 x 6 inch image somewhere on the larger sign. The administrative rules also permit inclusion of additional language on the larger signs.
I am a business owner; however, I rent the real property used to conduct my business. Does the authority rest with the property owner or me to allow/prohibit concealed firearms in my business?
o The authority rests with the property owner. This is true unless otherwise specified a rental or lease agreement. Again, there is nothing in the Firearms Concealed Carry Act that preempts a real property owner from designating this authority to a leasee through an appropriate lease agreement.
Can a business prohibit a weapon from being secured inside a locked vehicle while the vehicle is parked in a business parking lot?
o It does not appear that even a private property owner can do so given the parking lot safe haven provision.
Where can citizens obtain firearms training?
o The ISP approves certified firearms instructors and firearm training courses. A registry of approved instructors and list of approved courses is available on the ISP webpage and will be updated as additional instructors are approved. Only approved firearms instructors are allowed to teach approved firearms training courses. The statute expressly prohibits anyone other than an approved firearms instructor from teaching an approved firearms training course. This rule applies even if there is an approved firearms instructor present. For more information see 430 ILCS 66/80.