BIG3 Coming To Rosemont


By Dion Martorano | on July 30, 2019

Ice Cube’s BIG3 basketball league is making a visit to Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Saturday, Aug. 3 at 11:30 a.m.

The 3-on-3 basketball league features many former NBA players, including a few legends coaching and playing. There are 12 teams in the league.

Three games are scheduled to be played at Allstate Arena. The event will air live on CBS.

Ghost Ballers play Tri State, Killer 3’s play Bivouac, and Enemies play Power.

Ghost Ballers is returning from last year and is coached by Hall of Famer George Gervin. The team includes 2-time all-star Carlos Boozer (13 NBA seasons), Mike Bibby (14 NBA seasons), Ricky Davis (12 NBA seasons) and Jamario Moon (5 NBA seasons).

Tri State, coached by Hall of Famer Julius “Dr. J” Erving, is highlighted by players Amar’e Stoudemire (6-time all-star, 14 NBA seasons) and Nate Robinson (11 NBA seasons, 3-time NBA Slam Dunk Champion).

Killer 3’s is coached by NBA legend Charles Oakley (19 NBA seasons, 1 all-star) with players including Eddy Curry (11 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title), Stephen Jackson (14 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title) and Josh Powell (9 NBA seasons, 2 NBA titles).

Bivouac is a new team in 2019 and they are led by Josh Smith (13 NBA seasons, 2005 NBA Slam Dunk Champion), Will Bynum (8 NBA seasons, from Chicago), Anthony Morrow (9 NBA seasons) and Dion Glover (6 NBA seasons).

Another new team is Enemies, led by 3-time NBA all-star Gilbert Arenas (11 NBA seasons).

Basketball Hall of Fame member Nancy Lieberman coaches Power, the defending BIG3 champions. The team has a lot of Illinois flavor with Corey Maggette (14 NBA seasons, from Melrose Park), Quentin Richardson (13 NBA seasons, from Chicago) and Julian Wright (4 NBA seasons, from Chicago). Power also includes memorable NBA players Cuttino Mobley (11 seasons), Glen “Big Baby” Davis (9 seasons, 1 title) and Chris “Birdman” Anderson (15 seasons, 1 title).

The other six teams take the day off Aug. 3 and play Aug. 4 at Fierv Forum in Milwaukee, WI.

The team 3 Headed Monsters is coached by Hall of Famer Gary Payton with players including Mario Chalmers (9 NBA seasons, 2 NBA titles), Rashard Lewis (16 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title), Reggie Evans (13 NBA seasons) and Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf (9 NBA seasons, No. 3 pick in 1990).

There’s 3’s Company with Drew Gooden (14 NBA seasons), Dahntay Jones (13 NBA seasons) and Jason Maxiell (10 NBA seasons).

Aliens features Proviso East alum Shannon Brown (9 NBA seasons, 2 NBA titles) and Greg Oden (3 NBA seasons, former No. 1 overall pick), who are coached by Hall of Fame member Nate Archibald (13 NBA seasons).

Ball Hogs features former Chicago Bull Brian Scalabrine (11 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title) along with Josh Childress (8 NBA seasons) and Deshawn Stevenson (13 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title). They are coached by Hall of Fame member Rick Barry (10 NBA seasons).

Trilogy, the 2017 BIG3 champions, is coached by Kenyon Martin (15 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title) and the roster includes Jason Terry (19 NBA seasons, 1 NBA title) and Carlos Arroyo (9 NBA seasons).

The last team is Triplets, coached by Hall of Famer Lisa Leslie (12 WNBA seasons), is led by 7-time NBA all-star Joe Johnson (17 NBA seasons) along with Al Jefferson (14 NBA seasons) and Jannero Pargo (11 NBA seasons, Paul Robeson High School alum in Chicago).

Full Article



Web site design and web site development by

close (X)